Beautiful Mother

“It appears that motion, poetry, physical and intellectual science, and religion, all tend to affect our conviction of the reality of the external world. But I own there is something ungrateful in expanding too curiously the particulars of the general proposition, that all culture tends to imbue us with idealism. I have no hostility to nature, but a child’s love to it. I expand and live in the warm day like corn and melons. Let us speak her fair. I do not wish to fling stones at my beautiful mother, nor soil my gentle nest. I only wish to indicate the true position of nature in regard to man, wherein to establish man, all right education tends: as the ground which to attain is the object of human life, that is, of man’s connection with nature.”

– My Beloved R. W. Emerson

Leave a Reply

